MAGKS Doctoral Colloquium 14./15. September

14 September 2023

-	14:45		Arrival and check-in
14:45 -	15:30	Konstantinos Theocharopoulos	Who Should Be Sanctioned? A Theory of Comprehensive and Targeted Sanctions in Autocracies
15:30 -	16:15	Vincent Rost	How Do Managers Form Their Expectations About Working From Home? Survey Experiments on the Perception of Productivity
16:15 -	16:45		Coffee Break
16:45 -	17:30	Mohammad Asadi	The Paradox of Income and Happiness in Conflict-Affected Afghanistan: How Fear of Insecurity and Violence Influence Happiness
17:30 -	18:15	Sinem Kandemir	Uncertainty about the War in Ukraine: Measurement and Effects on the German Business Cycle
18:30 -			Dinner / meeting of MAGKS coordinators

15 September 2023

9:00	-	9:45	Jana Magin and Alexandra Stevens	Central Bank Digital Currency as a New Means of Payment: An Experimental Approach
9:45	-	10:30	Maryia Orsich	From Blueprint to Ownership: Study of self-governance strategies for community-based natural resource management
10:30	-	11:00		Coffee Break
11:00	-	11:45	Ard Uka	Impediment or inducement? The effect of IMF programs and policy conditionality on macroeconomic stabilization
11:45	-	12:30	Alexander Bareis	Regional Effects of the Belt and Road Initiative
12:30	-	13:30		Lunch Break
13:30	-	14:15	Constanze Liepold	Energy Justice and Direct Load Control - Sociodemographic Analysis of Economic and Technological Potential
14:15	-	15:00	Muzammil Hussain	Retail prices in Latin America during the 2014-2015 US dollar rally: a microscopic perspective using scanner data

List of Participants:

Prof. Carsten Hefeker	University of Siegen		
Prof. Jurgen Meckl	University of Gießen		
Prof. Ulrike Neyer	University of Düsseldorf		
Konstantinos Theocharopoulos	University of Siegen		
Vincent Rost	University of Gießen		
Mohammad Haroon Asadi	University of Marburg		
Sinem Kandemir	University of Gießen		
Sophie Polke	University of Düsseldorf		
Alexandra Stevens	University of Düsseldorf		
Jana Magin	University of Düsseldorf		
Maryia Orsich	University of Marburg		
Jasia Tahzeeda	University of Marburg		
Constanze Liepold	University of Aachen		
Alexander Bareis	University of Siegen		
Ard Uka	University of Siegen		
Muzammil Hussain	University of Siegen		
Kareem Hamdy	University of Marburg		